Thomas Rudolph

Thomas Rudolph

Thomas Rudolph

Prof. Dr.
Full Professor of Marketing and International Retail Management
IRM-HSG
Büro 2-206
Dufourstrasse 40a
9000 St. Gallen
Main Focuses Consumer Behavior; Digital Marketing; E-Commerce; Strategic Retail Management;
Fields of research
  • Strategic Retail Management
  • Consumer Behaviour
  • E-Commerce
  • Digital Marketing
Further fields of research
  • Frontline-Employee Empowerment
  • Customer Inspiration
  • Cross-Channel Management
  • Positioning and Differentiation in Retailing
  • E-Commerce
Professional Career

Thomas Rudolph studied business administration at the University of Mannheim. Since 2000, he teaches and researches as a full professor at the University of St.Gallen. His research focus is on Consumer Behavior; Digital Marketing; E-Commerce; Strategic Retail Management. In 2006, he founded the Retail Lab, a partnership program between the University of St.Gallen and numerous international retailers, at the Institute for Marketing and Retail. 

Since 2009, he manages and directs the Institute of Retail Management, which includes the Gottlieb Duttweiler Chair for International Retail Management and the Retail Lab. Various research projects and studies on current issues such as Cross-Channel Management, E-Commerce, Food Consumption, Customer Inspiration etc. have contributed to the prominence of the research center. By now, 30 retailers have joined our partnership programs (e.g., Aldi, Carrefour,Continental, Ikea, Migros, Nestlé, Swarovski etc.). Each year numerous Research workshops, executive certificate programms (in St.Gallen,Oxford and Barcelona) and Board summits take place as part of this program. 

Thomas Rudolph has been teaching as a visiting Professor at the Brigham Young Universityin Utah in 1998, at the University of Florida in 2006 and at the Massey University in Auckland in 2008.    

Awards

2018: Nominated for the Best Teaching Award of Universität St. Gallen 

2017: Nominated for the Best Teaching Award of Universität St. Gallen 

2012: Managerial Impact Award by the University of St.Gallen. Awarded at the Business Innovation Day.

2010: Communication Impact Award by the University of St.Gallen. Awarded at the Business Innovation Day for the international and national media coverage of the study Der Schweizer Online-Handel - Internetnutzung Schweiz 2009.  

Editorial Board Thomas Rudolph serves on the Senior Advisory Board of the Journal of Marketing Theory and Practice, and functions as one of the editors of the Marketing Review St.Gallen.  
Additional Information

Thomas Rudolph has published more than 11 books and over 400 articles on the topics of Marketing and Retailing in highly ranked journals such as the Journal of Marketing, the Journal of Retailing, the Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services, the International Review of Retail, Distribution and Consumer Research, the Journal for Business Economics, and the Harvard Business Manager.   

Alexandria Further information about Thomas Rudolph

Thomas Rudolph

Thomas Rudolph

Thomas Rudolph

Prof. Dr.
Ordentlicher Professor für Marketing und Internationales Handelsmanagement
IRM-HSG
Büro 2-206
Dufourstrasse 40a
9000 St. Gallen
Schwerpunkte Kauf- und Konsumverhalten, Digitales Marketing, E-Commerce, Strategisches Handelsmanagement.
Forschungsgebiete
  • (Strategisches) Handelsmanagement
  • Konsumverhalten
Weitere Forschungsgebiete
  • Mitarbeiter-Empowerment
  • Kundeninspiration
  • Cross-Channel Management
  • Positionierung und Profilierung im Handel
  • E-Commerce
Berufserfahrung

Thomas Rudolph studierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Mannheim. Er forscht und lehrt als Ordinarius für Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Marketing seit dem Jahr 2000 an der Universität St.Gallen. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Kauf- und Konsumverhalten, Digitales Marketing, E-Commerce sowie Strategisches Handelsmanagement. 2006 gründete er am Institut für Marketing und Handel das sogenannte Retail-Lab, ein Partnerschaftsprogramm zwischen der Universität St.Gallen und mehreren internationalen Handelsunternehmen.  

Seit 2009 leitet er als Direktor das Forschungszentrum für Handelsmanagement an der Universität St.Gallen, wozu auch der Gottlieb Duttweiler Lehrstuhl für Internationales Handelsmanagement und das Retail-Lab gehören. Zahlreiche Forschungsprojekte und Studien zu aktuellen Themen wie z.B. Cross-Channel Management, E-Commerce, Ess-und Verzehrverhalten, Kundeninspiration im Handel etc. haben zur Bekanntheit des Forschungszentrums beigetragen. Mittlerweile haben sich rund 30 Unternehmen den Partnerschaftsprogrammen angeschlossen (z.B. Aldi, Carrefour, Continental, Ikea, Migros, Nestlé, Swarovski etc.). Jährlich finden im Zuge dieser Programme zahlreiche Forschungsworkshops, international ausgerichtete Ausbildungsprogramm für Führungskräfte (in St.Gallen, Oxford und Barcelona) und ein Board Summit statt. 

Thomas Rudolph lehrte 1998 als Gastprofessor an der Brigham Young University in Utah, 2001 an der University of Florida, 2006 an der ESADE in Barcelona und 2008 an der Massey University in Auckland. 

Auszeichnungen

2018: Nominiert für den Best Teaching Award der Universität St. Gallen 

2017: Nominiert für den Best Teaching Award der Universität St. Gallen

2012: Managerial Impact-Award der Universität St.Gallen. Auszeichnung auf dem Business Innovation Day.

2010: Communication Impact Award der Universität St. Gallen. Auszeichnung auf dem Business Innovation Day für die Medienwirkung der Studie "Der Schweizer Online-Handel - Internetnutzung Schweiz 2009".

Editorial Board Thomas Rudolph wirkt im Senior Advisory Board des Journal of Marketing Theory and Practice, dem European Retail Research und ist Mitherausgeber der Marketing Review St.Gallen. Als Verwaltungsrat unterstützt er namhafte Unternehmen.   
Weitere Informationen

Thomas Rudolph ist Verfasser von mehr als 10 Büchern und über 350 Artikeln zu Marketing- und Handelsthemen in renommierten Zeitschriften wie bspw. dem Journal of Marketing, dem Journal of Retailing, dem Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services, The International Review of Retail, Distribution and Consumer Research, dem Journal für Business Economics oder dem Harvard Business Manager.  

Alexandria Weitere Angaben zu Thomas Rudolph